The official all-platform number
IllFonic reported the game passing 500,000 players during launch on the official site. That is the only figure covering all four storefronts, since it comes from the publisher rather than a third-party tracker.
It counts players, not concurrent players — a cumulative measure of how many people have played rather than how many are in game right now.
Keep those two ideas separate when reading any population claim, because mixing them is the most common error in player-count coverage.
What Steam trackers can actually see
Third-party trackers only monitor Steam. On launch day SteamyData recorded 18,990 concurrent players, and Tracker Network logged an all-time peak and 24-hour peak both at 33,639.
Those two peak values being identical tells you something useful: the all-time high happened inside the current window, which is exactly what you expect on release day.
Steam is a meaningful slice of the population but not the whole of it, so treat these numbers as a floor rather than a total.
What this means for queue times
A match needs five people — one Michael and four civilians — which is a small lobby by multiplayer standards and easy to fill at this population level.
Crossplay is supported at launch, and the Xbox Store lists cross-platform multiplayer and co-op directly. Because PS5, Xbox and PC share a pool, the Steam figure is not the size of your queue.
Practically, at launch there is no realistic scenario where you fail to find a lobby on any platform.

How to read the trend from here
Launch-day peaks are the easiest number a live game will ever post. The meaningful question is retention over the following weeks, not the day-one high.
The retention machinery is in place: four progression tracks with Prestige, three challenge types, perk decks and hundreds of unlockable cosmetics.
Working against it are the technical complaints that dominated launch coverage — connection failures, crashes and frame-rate issues — which IllFonic began addressing with a 1.0.1 hotfix shortly after Advance Access opened.
Caveats on every number here
All figures on this page are timestamped to September 8, 2026 and will drift. Any player-count page without a capture time is not telling you enough to be useful.
Console numbers simply do not exist publicly. Neither Sony nor Microsoft publishes per-title concurrents, and no third party can estimate them reliably.
Estimated sales figures circulating from trackers — around 242.9K Steam copies and roughly $5.8M gross — are third-party estimates, not reported results.
Why population matters in a 1v4 game
Asymmetrical horror games live or die on matchmaking. A 1v4 lobby needs five people, and if either role is undersupplied the queue stalls for everyone — which is why player-count questions dominate searches for this genre.
Role balance is the quieter half of the problem. Everyone wants to play the killer at launch, so civilian queues typically fill faster than Michael queues in games structured this way.
Crossplay materially reduces both risks by merging PS5, Xbox and PC into one pool, and the Xbox Store lists cross-platform multiplayer and co-op directly.
What will decide the numbers from here
On the retention side, the game has four progression tracks with Prestige, three challenge types, perk decks and hundreds of unlockable cosmetics — plus a six-chapter campaign that does not depend on other players at all.
Working against it are the launch complaints: Backend Authentication failures, login queues, crashes and frame-rate issues that vary by hardware, and systems the game explains poorly.
The seasonal factor is unusual here. Launching on September 8 puts the whole of October ahead of the game rather than behind it, which is a tailwind most horror titles do not get.
How to check the numbers yourself
For Steam, use a tracker that displays both current concurrents and the all-time peak, and check when the page last updated. A figure without a timestamp is not usable.
For all-platform claims, the official site is the only credible source, and its 500,000+ figure is cumulative players rather than concurrents.
Treat sales estimates — the roughly 242.9K Steam copies and $5.8M gross figures circulating from trackers — as third-party modelling, not reported results.
How to read population claims elsewhere
Two numbers get mixed up constantly. Cumulative players counts everyone who has ever launched the game; concurrent players counts how many are in it at one moment. The 500,000+ figure is the first kind, the 33,639 peak is the second.
Platform coverage is the second trap. Every publicly available concurrency figure for this game describes Steam alone, because Sony and Microsoft do not publish per-title numbers.
Any article citing a total player count for consoles is estimating, and should say so — third-party sales estimates of roughly 242.9K Steam copies and $5.8M gross are modelling, not reported results.
What the numbers mean for your queue
A lobby is five players in a 1v4 format, which is small and quick to fill at launch-window population levels.
Crossplay merges PS5, Xbox and both PC storefronts into one pool, confirmed by the cross-platform multiplayer and co-op capabilities listed on the Xbox Store.
The practical takeaway is that platform choice should be driven by where your friends play and which hardware features you want, not by fear of empty lobbies.
Not confirmed yet
- PS5 and Xbox concurrent or active player figures — no public source exists.
